December 2019 Wrap-up

Ok so clearly I’m one day late on this (happy 2020, everyone!), but I still wanted to take the time to share what I was up to in this last month. I don’t think I’ll be posting a “best of 2019” or “best of the decade” because I CANNOT CHOOSE, OKAY? There are just too many books in too many genres that are great in different, incomparable, ways. I’m not going to compare Katherine Arden’s excellent fantasy to my newfound love of Murakami. They’re just too different.

Moving on, here’s what I read this month!

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Wow. Just wow!! I absolutely adored this book. Ng writes with precise craft and heavy emotion, making even a book about peoples’ everyday lives incredibly gripping.


The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli

Rating: 2 out of 5.

I received a review copy of this and unfortunately, it was a bust. Read my full review here.


Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This woman is just,, amazing? Another wow.


Days of Sugar and Spice written by Loic Clement and illustrated by Anne Montel

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

A super-cute, feel-good graphic novel. Read my full review here.


South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Yet another amazing book by this man. This one is one of his more “mundane” novels, but it is strange and magical nonetheless.


Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer

Rating: 4 out of 5.

A spooky Halloween-time read about witches and serial killers. Intrigued? Read my full review here.


Sourdough by Robin Sloan

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Perfect for fans of Penumbra. This is a quirky, eccentric, way-out-there read. You will gobble it up.

So I read some pretty fantastic books this month. Overall, a lot more good than bad. For anyone looking for something to read, I think there is a pretty diverse set of genres here, so I would recommend (most of) these!

What did your last month of 2019 look like?

Happy reading,

One thought on “December 2019 Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s