December 2019 Wrap-up

december-wrap-up.png

Ok so clearly I’m one day late on this (happy 2020, everyone!), but I still wanted to take the time to share what I was up to in this last month. I don’t think I’ll be posting a “best of 2019” or “best of the decade” because I CANNOT CHOOSE, OKAY? There are just too many books in too many genres that are great in different, incomparable, ways. I’m not going to compare Katherine Arden’s excellent fantasy to my newfound love of Murakami. They’re just too different.

Moving on, here’s what I read this month!

34331079. sy475

 

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Wow. Just wow!! I absolutely adored this book. Ng writes with precise craft and heavy emotion, making even a book about peoples’ everyday lives incredibly gripping.

5 @300x-100

 

 

 

 

32667458

 

The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli

I received a review copy of this and unfortunately, it was a bust. Read my full review here.

2@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

19398259. sy475

 

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

This woman is just,, amazing? Another wow.

5 @300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

 

Days of Sugar and Spice - Europe Comics

 

Days of Sugar and Spice written by Loic Clement and illustrated by Anne Montel

A super-cute, feel-good graphic novel. Read my full review here.

3.5@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

Haruki Murakami – South of the Border, West of the Sun ...

 

South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami

Yet another amazing book by this man. This one is one of his more “mundane” novels, but it is strange and magical nonetheless.

4@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

10 sapphic YA fantasy books coming out in 2020 to add to ...

 

Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer

A spooky Halloween-time read about witches and serial killers.

Intrigued? Read my full review here.

4@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

A Reader of Fictions

 

Sourdough by Robin Sloan

Perfect for fans of Penumbra. This is a quirky, eccentric, way-out-there read. You will gobble it up.

4.5@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

So I read some pretty fantastic books this month. Overall, a lot more good than bad. For anyone looking for something to read, I think there is a pretty diverse set of genres here, so I would recommend (most of) these!

What did your last month of 2019 look like?

Happy reading,

Artboard 2@300x-100

July Wrap-Up

Hello everyone! I hope you had a wonderful July full of lots of good books. This month was actually pretty successful for me, and I’m happy that I finally picked up the pace. I’m still seven books behind on my reading goal, according to Goodreads, buuuut that’s okay. We don’t worry about that. Hopefully I’ll have more good months like this to catch up.

This month I read a total of eight books, and I think I wrote reviews for most of them:

  • Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
    • My rating: 3/5 stars
  • Gilded by Christina Farley
    • My rating: 3/5 stars
  • Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon hale
    • My rating: 5/5 stars
  • Circe by Madeline Miller
    • My rating: 5/5 stars
  • Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik
    • My rating: 4/5 stars
  • Furyborn by Claire Legrand
    • My rating: 2/5 stars
  • The Goblins of Bellwater by Molly Ringle
    • My rating: 3/5 stars
  • The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith
    • My rating: 4/5 stars

I was able to read these mostly due to the fact that it’s summer, so no school, but also because I did quite a bit of traveling this month. First was Boston, the week of July 4th. While there, I did my orientation for Northeastern University and also did a bunch of cool tours to see the history of the city, which was really fun. We also went to Disneyland! It’s one of our favorite places to go as a family, and this year it was exciting because we saw the redesigned Pixar Pier. It was super cool and I’d totally recommend going if you have yet to see it.

Other posts:

PLUS: A huge thanks to all the new followers who’ve joined me this month 🙂 I can’t wait to get to know all of you!

Books I tentatively plan to read in August:

Okay, well that’s all for now everyone! How was your July in terms of books? What books do you plan to read next month?

signature

July 2017 Wrap-up

Wd125_19 I cannot believe it’s already August!! Summer (despite my lazing about)
has passed so quickly. School starts in less less than two weeks for me…

So, the summer has been super slow reading for me, unfortunately. I reduced my Goodreads goal from 110 books to 90 books–hopefully I can reach it! I think it is a more reasonable goal, and I’m a little past halfway done.

I read 6 books in July (but one of them was only 100-ish pages lol). Here are my thoughts:

Continue reading “July 2017 Wrap-up”

September Wrap-Up

Wd125_15

Well, another month gone. I can’t believe that it’s October already, although it doesn’t feel like it because the high here is still about 90 degrees (not exaggerating).

 

This was definitely a slow reading/blogging month for me, as I was adjusting to school, getting my license (16, whoop!), and planning parties. Overall, I read a measly six books. I’m definitely going to have to make up for this in October. On the bright side, now that I have a car and can drive wherever my heart desires, book-buying is no longer limited to Amazon (smirk intensifies.)

Continue reading “September Wrap-Up”