December 2019 Wrap-up

december-wrap-up.png

Ok so clearly I’m one day late on this (happy 2020, everyone!), but I still wanted to take the time to share what I was up to in this last month. I don’t think I’ll be posting a “best of 2019” or “best of the decade” because I CANNOT CHOOSE, OKAY? There are just too many books in too many genres that are great in different, incomparable, ways. I’m not going to compare Katherine Arden’s excellent fantasy to my newfound love of Murakami. They’re just too different.

Moving on, here’s what I read this month!

34331079. sy475

 

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Wow. Just wow!! I absolutely adored this book. Ng writes with precise craft and heavy emotion, making even a book about peoples’ everyday lives incredibly gripping.

5 @300x-100

 

 

 

 

32667458

 

The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli

I received a review copy of this and unfortunately, it was a bust. Read my full review here.

2@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

19398259. sy475

 

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

This woman is just,, amazing? Another wow.

5 @300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

 

Days of Sugar and Spice - Europe Comics

 

Days of Sugar and Spice written by Loic Clement and illustrated by Anne Montel

A super-cute, feel-good graphic novel. Read my full review here.

3.5@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

Haruki Murakami – South of the Border, West of the Sun ...

 

South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami

Yet another amazing book by this man. This one is one of his more “mundane” novels, but it is strange and magical nonetheless.

4@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

10 sapphic YA fantasy books coming out in 2020 to add to ...

 

Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer

A spooky Halloween-time read about witches and serial killers.

Intrigued? Read my full review here.

4@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

A Reader of Fictions

 

Sourdough by Robin Sloan

Perfect for fans of Penumbra. This is a quirky, eccentric, way-out-there read. You will gobble it up.

4.5@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

So I read some pretty fantastic books this month. Overall, a lot more good than bad. For anyone looking for something to read, I think there is a pretty diverse set of genres here, so I would recommend (most of) these!

What did your last month of 2019 look like?

Happy reading,

Artboard 2@300x-100

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Hope to Find Under My Tree

Books I Hope to Find Under My Tree

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list originally created by The Broke and the Bookish and now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

The theme for this week is Books I Hope to Find Under My Tree. Unfortunately, with my university being on the other side of the country from my hometown (where I celebrate Christmas with my family), it is very hard to ask for physical books for these reasons: 1) I can’t bring heavy books in my suitcase, which wouldn’t be a problem except that 2) I couldn’t possibly finish the books before I have to go back to school. For that reason, these books will probably be purchased on my Kindle, as a gift from myself to myself (you are welcome, self).

Pumpkinheads: Rainbow Rowell unveils cover for graphic ...

  1. Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell and Faith Erin Hicks

I still have yet to read this graphic novel, and I’ve heard great things about it.

 

 

 

 

Revealing The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha ...

 

2. The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Look how pretty this is! I couldn’t really get into The Bone Season, also by Shannon, but this one looks like its up my ally. Also, it is THICK.

 

 

 

 

Circle of Shadows | Evelyn Skye3. Circle of Shadows by Evelyn Skye

I absolutely adored Evelyn Skye’s first series, and this one also sounds really good!

 

 

 

 

 

Crescent City: 'House Of Earth And Blood' By Sarah J. Maas ...

4. Crescent City by Sarah J. Maas

Okay, so this one hasn’t been released yet. But! The prompt only calls for what I want to find under the tree… not what will really be there.

Also, I know people absolutely loathe Maas. Had I started reading her at a later date, maybe I would be one of those people too. But, growing up with Aelin since I was 11 years old has created a special place for her in my heart. I will read whatever this lady writes.

 

 

5. Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado

This book sounds really wacky. Magical realism, fantasy, and sci-fi wrapped up in some absurd feminist short stories? Yes please.

 

 

 

 

Top Ten Tuesday (Or Should I Say “Top Twenty Tuesday ...

6. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

This one is actually waiting under my tree! For my sister though, because I bought it for her (Not that I bought it with any intention of stealing it for myself…).

 

 

 

 

 

Killing Commendatore by Haruki Murakami | Waterstones7. Killing Commendatore by Haruki Murakami

I’m slowly making my way through all of Murakami’s work. So far my favorites are still Sputnik Sweetheart and After Dark. We’ll see where this one ends up!

 

 

 

 

'The Five: The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack ...8. The Five: The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper by Hallie Rubenhold

How did I not know about this?????? I am fascinated by Jack the Ripper, but this story actually returns the focus to his victims. Also, it won a Goodreads choice award. What’s not to like?

 

 

 

Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag – rimpysreads9. The Name of the Wind (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition ) by Patrick Rothfuss

I’m really due for a reread of this and LOOK HOW PRETTY IT IS!!!!!!!!

 

 

 

 

Over the Top: A Raw Journey to Self-Love by Jonathan Van ...10. Over the Top: A Raw Journey to Self-Love by Johnathan Van Ness

Preferably signed.

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for reading! Link your TTTs below! Do we have any in common?

Artboard 2@300x-100

 

 

 

 

 

Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer

 

Witches of Ash and Ruin.png

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.

Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finally becoming a full witch-plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.

And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester-an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer’s motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don’t stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.

Amazon

Goodreads

I received a copy from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer”

Days of Sugar and Spice by Loïc Clément, Illustrated by Anne Montel

Days of Sugar and Spice.png

Amazon
Europe Comics
Goodreads

Rose is not a happy young woman; she is closed off and angry and she hates her job. But her life changes drastically when she inherits her father’s bakery in a small town in Brittany. Returning to a place that brought her both joy and grief forces her to confront painful memories of her past and find the courage to open her heart to a new, happier life that awaits her if she will just let it. A story about new beginnings, filled with small town charm, delicious pastries and the warmth of home and friends.

I received a copy from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. It is spoiler-free!

Continue reading “Days of Sugar and Spice by Loïc Clément, Illustrated by Anne Montel”