July 2020 Wrap-up

It seems like July passed in a heartbeat! Honestly, I am kind of happy about that since I am eagerly awaiting fall book release season (and just fall vibes in general). August is a nice in-between of summery warmth and the beginnings of cozy, so I think it will be a nice reading month. Anyway, I just wanted to give a quick overview of what I read this July and what I rated each one.

Red Sister (Book of the Ancestor): Lawrence, Mark: 9781101988855 ...

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

Rating: 4 out of 5.
A Cathedral of Myth and Bone: Stories - Kindle edition by Howard ...

A Cathedral of Myth and Bone by Kat Howard

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
Amazon.com: Unsouled (Cradle Book 1) eBook: Wight, Will: Kindle Store

Unsouled by Will Wight

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Red Sister (Book of the Ancestor): Lawrence, Mark: 9781101988855 ...

White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo

Rating: 4 out of 5.
A Cathedral of Myth and Bone: Stories - Kindle edition by Howard ...

Soulsmith by Will Wight

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Amazon.com: Unsouled (Cradle Book 1) eBook: Wight, Will: Kindle Store

The Near Witch by V.E. Schwab

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Red Sister (Book of the Ancestor): Lawrence, Mark: 9781101988855 ...

Grey Sister by Mark Lawrence

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
A Cathedral of Myth and Bone: Stories - Kindle edition by Howard ...

The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.
Amazon.com: Unsouled (Cradle Book 1) eBook: Wight, Will: Kindle Store

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Reviews:

My favorite was definitely the Ancestor series by Mark Lawrence. I’m currently reading the last book in the trilogy. The most unique was Gideon the Ninth. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the sequel comes out in about a week, so I’m super excited about that! I also think I did a good job with actually reading sequels at all this month. I have an unfortunate tendency to prioritize different books rather than finishing a series. Definitely something I’m working on though.

What were your favorite reads this month? Do you have any new releases you’re looking forward to in August?

December 2019 Wrap-up

Ok so clearly I’m one day late on this (happy 2020, everyone!), but I still wanted to take the time to share what I was up to in this last month. I don’t think I’ll be posting a “best of 2019” or “best of the decade” because I CANNOT CHOOSE, OKAY? There are just too many books in too many genres that are great in different, incomparable, ways. I’m not going to compare Katherine Arden’s excellent fantasy to my newfound love of Murakami. They’re just too different.

Moving on, here’s what I read this month!

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Wow. Just wow!! I absolutely adored this book. Ng writes with precise craft and heavy emotion, making even a book about peoples’ everyday lives incredibly gripping.


The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli

Rating: 2 out of 5.

I received a review copy of this and unfortunately, it was a bust. Read my full review here.


Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This woman is just,, amazing? Another wow.


Days of Sugar and Spice written by Loic Clement and illustrated by Anne Montel

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

A super-cute, feel-good graphic novel. Read my full review here.


South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Yet another amazing book by this man. This one is one of his more “mundane” novels, but it is strange and magical nonetheless.


Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer

Rating: 4 out of 5.

A spooky Halloween-time read about witches and serial killers. Intrigued? Read my full review here.


Sourdough by Robin Sloan

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Perfect for fans of Penumbra. This is a quirky, eccentric, way-out-there read. You will gobble it up.

So I read some pretty fantastic books this month. Overall, a lot more good than bad. For anyone looking for something to read, I think there is a pretty diverse set of genres here, so I would recommend (most of) these!

What did your last month of 2019 look like?

Happy reading,

July Wrap-Up

Well… another month of summer gone. I cant believe school starts August 29th. July went by WAY too fast.

I haven’t really been keeping a list of my July haul, so I’ll just show you the books I read and the ratings I gave them. If they were really fantastic I’ll probably rant about it. Anyways, at nine books, this was a semi-successful reading month–although I try for at least ten a month. That way I’ll have quite a bit of leeway in my 100-book 2016 goal.

2016 Progress as of Today (8/2/16): 74/100 Books

Continue reading “July Wrap-Up”