Shielded by KayLynn Flanders

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
Shielded (Shielded, #1) by KayLynn Flanders

The kingdom of Hálendi is in trouble. It’s losing the war at its borders, and rumors of a new, deadlier threat on the horizon have surfaced. Princess Jennesara knows her skills on the battlefield would make her an asset and wants to help, but her father has other plans.

As the second-born heir to the throne, Jenna lacks the firstborn’s–her brother’s–magical abilities, so the king promises her hand in marriage to the prince of neighboring Turia in exchange for resources Hálendi needs. Jenna must leave behind everything she has ever known if she is to give her people a chance at peace.

Only, on the journey to reach her betrothed and new home, the royal caravan is ambushed, and Jenna realizes the rumors were wrong–the new threat is worse than anyone imagined. Now Jenna must decide if revealing a dangerous secret is worth the cost before it’s too late–for her and for her entire kingdom.

Pre-order it on Amazon or learn more on Goodreads.

Continue reading “Shielded by KayLynn Flanders”

December 2019 Wrap-up

Ok so clearly I’m one day late on this (happy 2020, everyone!), but I still wanted to take the time to share what I was up to in this last month. I don’t think I’ll be posting a “best of 2019” or “best of the decade” because I CANNOT CHOOSE, OKAY? There are just too many books in too many genres that are great in different, incomparable, ways. I’m not going to compare Katherine Arden’s excellent fantasy to my newfound love of Murakami. They’re just too different.

Moving on, here’s what I read this month!

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Wow. Just wow!! I absolutely adored this book. Ng writes with precise craft and heavy emotion, making even a book about peoples’ everyday lives incredibly gripping.


The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli

Rating: 2 out of 5.

I received a review copy of this and unfortunately, it was a bust. Read my full review here.


Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This woman is just,, amazing? Another wow.


Days of Sugar and Spice written by Loic Clement and illustrated by Anne Montel

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

A super-cute, feel-good graphic novel. Read my full review here.


South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Yet another amazing book by this man. This one is one of his more “mundane” novels, but it is strange and magical nonetheless.


Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer

Rating: 4 out of 5.

A spooky Halloween-time read about witches and serial killers. Intrigued? Read my full review here.


Sourdough by Robin Sloan

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Perfect for fans of Penumbra. This is a quirky, eccentric, way-out-there read. You will gobble it up.

So I read some pretty fantastic books this month. Overall, a lot more good than bad. For anyone looking for something to read, I think there is a pretty diverse set of genres here, so I would recommend (most of) these!

What did your last month of 2019 look like?

Happy reading,

The Last Wish of Sasha Cade by Cheyanne Young

The Last Wish of Sasha Cade by Cheyanne Young
  • 34802290My rating: 4.5/5 stars
  • Genre: Young adult contemporary
  • Publisher: KCP Loft
  • 320 pages
  • Goodreads
  • Amazon

The day Raquel has been dreading for months has finally arrived. Sasha, her best friend in the whole world — the best friend in the whole world — has died of cancer. Raquel can’t imagine life without her. She’s overwhelmed and brokenhearted.

And then a letter from Sasha arrives. Has she somehow found a way to communicate from the afterlife?

In fact, Sasha has planned an elaborate scavenger hunt for Raquel, and when she follows the instructions to return to Sasha’s grave, a mysterious stranger with striking eyes is waiting for her. There’s a secret attached to this boy that only Sasha—and now Raquel—knows.

This boy, Elijah, might be just what Raquel needs to move on from her terrible loss. But can Raquel remain true to herself while also honoring her friend’s final wish?

Read below for my spoiler-free review. (I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

Continue reading “The Last Wish of Sasha Cade by Cheyanne Young”

Furyborn by Claire Legrand

Furyborn by Claire Legrand

Screen Shot 2018-07-28 at 11.40.48 PM

  • My rating: 2.5/5 stars 😦
  • Goodreads
  • Amazon
  • Published by Sourcebooks Fire
  • 512 freaking pages

Description: When assassins ambush her best friend, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing herself as one of a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light, and a queen of blood. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven elemental magic trials. If she fails, she will be executed…unless the trials kill her first.

One thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a fairy tale to Eliana Ferracora. A bounty hunter for the Undying Empire, Eliana believes herself untouchable―until her mother vanishes. To find her, Eliana joins a rebel captain and discovers that the evil at the empire’s heart is more terrible than she ever imagined.

As Rielle and Eliana fight in a cosmic war that spans millennia, their stories intersect, and the shocking connections between them ultimately determine the fate of their world―and of each other.

My spoiler-free review is below.

Continue reading “Furyborn by Claire Legrand”